The MAST Primary Care Network

The MAST Health Partnership PCN

Kirkburton Health Centre is part of The MAST Health Partnership Primary Care Network (PCN). The Network is made up of 5 local Practices with a population of over 35,000 patients. The 5 Practices are:

  • Kirkburton Health Centre
  • Lepton and Kirkheaton Surgery
  • Shepley Health Centre
  • Skelmanthorpe Family Doctors
  • Dearne Valley Health Centre

What is a PCN?

PCNs are a key part of the NHS Long Term Plan. They provide the structure and funding for services to be developed locally, in response to the needs of the patients they serve. PCNs will help to join up services at a local level, focusing on the specific needs of these local populations, with patients still accessing routine GP appointments as they do now.

PCNs are groups of GP practices working closely together, along with other healthcare staff and organisations within the NHS and voluntary sector, to improve the healthcare of our local population by providing integrated healthcare services.

What is the mission and Vision of the PCN?

To be a health home where we provide patient-focused care, support and resources to enable our patients to achieve their best health outcome.

We will bring together GP practices in neighbourhoods so that they can work with others – health and social care services, the voluntary sector, community groups and local people – to make best use of available resources and make sure that everyone gets the right support, in the right place, at the right time.

To help achieve this mission we will focus our work on four key themes: Transformation, Neighbourhoods, Delivery and Effective Organisation.

For further information about The MAST PCN Network please visit